Part Five: Time and Motion: Exercise 1. Draw people, animals or things moving.

5a Tracking movementMake sketches of people, animals, plants, vehicles moving. Draw quickly and from different vantage points

I decided to start by making a small A5 book to record a weekend visit to settle in North Yorkshire. I stitched 4 sheets of 140 gram cartridge paper together with a thin blue card cover. I wanted to travel light and took only 5 different coloured biros and a ruler. . I started where I always start in my visits: in the cafe in market square. It has a large window overlooking the square and main road and I was lucky enough to get a window table.

Inside the cafe
Through the cafe window

Tomorrow I plan to work from a different perspective by sitting in a cafe at right angles to this one, and on the first floor so I will be looking down.

Next day – unfortunately the cafe on first floor is closed. It’s raining and cold and I need to be inside. I could think of no option but to return to same cafe as yesterday. At least I sat looking in a different direction.

Back in the same cafe third day running. Today I didn’t have a window seat – just a little further in – and this gave me scope to try to capture both inside and outside of cafe (see above). I like this perspective and the fact I’m beginning to build up quite an interesting and typical Sunday morning scene in settle. It’s a bit early for the bikers to start to arrive.

The window table became available and this time I used one large pane to ‘frame’ the view outside.


Reflection

I am really very poor at capturing movement. I think I’m trying to get down too much of the figure rather than capture with one or two lines. I need to practice on a daily basis. I’m trying to think where and when in my life this could be a possibility- I often don’t leave the house all day. When I’m at college I want to talk to people. I rarely sit in cafes except once a month when I come up to north Yorkshire. I will give this more thought. I’m struck by how a slightly different angle to the head or body can begin to communicate an interesting narrative. I also like using different coloured biros for this work – it allows me to see how I could build up layers in the narrative.




Leave a Comment